Six NATO Force Integration Units activated

Sep 2, 2015

MONS, Belgium - NATO Force Integration Units in six Allied nations were activated on Tuesday, 1 September 2015, marking an important milestone in their stand-up process.  These small headquarters, based in Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Romania, will ensure that NATO’s high-readiness forces can deploy to the region in a rapid manner and prepare for subsequent operations if required.
"I am very impressed by how quickly the six host-nations and NATO staff were able to activate these NATO Force Integration Units,” said General Philip Breedlove, Supreme Allied Commander Europe.  "While much work remains before these units are fully operational, the progress has been impressive.  These units will be critical in  facilitating the rapid deployment of Allied forces if required, supporting collective defence planning, and assisting in coordinating training and exercises,” he said.

Meeting of the North Atlantic Council at the level of Heads of State and Government during the Wales Summit - Photo courtesy of NATO HQ

The units are part of NATO’s adaptation plans as the Alliance faces increased security challenges in the region.  They will work in conjunction with national officials to identify logistical networks, transportation nodes and supporting infrastructure to ensure NATO high-readiness forces can deploy into an assigned region as quickly as possible.  The NFIUs are fairly small headquarters, not military bases, but they are part of the Readiness Action Plan, the biggest reinforcement of NATO’s collective defence since the end of the Cold War.  Each NFIU will be manned by around 40 staff, half of them coming from the host nation.  
NATO Force Integration Units are expected to be fully operational by the Warsaw Summit in the summer of 2016.
Story by SHAPE Public Affairs Office 


     About usTerm of useFind us on...Contact us

 Facebook       Twitter       Rss       YouTube       Flickr